When I turned 11, I started 6th grade. New school, new teachers, new people – new beginnings.

And braces.

I got braces shortly after 6th grade started and had them all through middle school, thankfully getting them off the summer between 8th and 9th grade. The only issue is, I had an allergic reaction to the metal of the braces which caused my gums, tongue and lips to swell a fair amount – not enough to be dangerous, but enough to be a nuisance to an 11-year-old kid.

Unfortunately, the dentist told my mom and I that they could remove the braces, but I’d still need them – so I could either have them removed just to have them put back on, or basically suffer through it.

I chose to suffer through it. And because of such, 99% of my middle school pictures feature me ‘smiling’ but refusing to show my teeth. I hated how my mouth looked when I smiled, so I refused to do it, especially when a camera was present.

Then, summer before 9th grade, I got them removed and the swelling went down. Unfortunately, because of the swelling of my gums, the back teeth had a few small gaps in them where the teeth couldn’t quite close up. The orthodontist wasn’t concerned, so I wasn’t either. As years’ went by, I started to smile again, showing my teeth – but I was still a bit self-conscious about the gaps in the back.

That brings us up to speed.

This week, I was talking to a friend and coworker about how I was contemplating getting Invisalign or something one day so I can correct the gaps in the back of my teeth. Based on my past, I knew braces weren’t going to help. Her response: “Why? Your teeth look perfect.”

That made me pause for a minute. Did they really look perfect? But what about the gaps? What about the areas that I knew weren’t fully closed, where food occasionally got stuck?

When I mentioned the gaps, she added: “I didn’t know that, you can’t even notice them. I think you’re the only one who can tell they’re there.”

Again, I paused, thinking. For year’s, I had been self-conscious about my smile because I had gaps in the back of my teeth. But according to my friend, nobody else could even tell. Why had I let a misconception about myself dictate my thoughts? Why had I let what I assumed was a very noticeable ‘flaw’ control the better part of my life?

This isn’t the first instance where there was a part of myself I was unhappy with, so I wanted to change it.

As I was formulating this post, I was consistently brought back to a few Scriptures:

“For You created my inmost being; You knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise You because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” – Psalm 139:13-14.

“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” – 1 Peter 3:3-4.

“For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” – Ephesians 2:10.

“But the LORD said to Samuel, ‘Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.'” – 1 Samuel 16:7.

God calls me a masterpiece, why had I let the world’s perception (or worse, what I assumed was their perception) of me change my thoughts on that?

This post is for anyone struggling through life because you believe you have flaws that need to be fixed. You are a masterpiece. You are God’s masterpiece. You were fearfully and wonderfully made. God sees your heart, rather than looking at your outward appearance.

Are there still things I’d change? Sure. I still plan on getting the gaps in the back of my teeth taken care of someday. But, it’s all about the reason behind it – are we doing it because we’re concerned of how the world will perceive us, or are we doing it for ourselves?

If we are a masterpiece in God’s eyes, then what weight does the world have against that? None at all.

Remember that as you go about your day today. Don’t let the world’s perception of you alter your thoughts concerning what you are – a masterpiece.